Past News & Headlines

Remembrance Scholar named 2018 Seinfeld Scholar

Each year Syracuse University honors the talents of outstanding faculty or students through a program made possible by a generous gift from Judith Greenberg Seinfeld ’56, a distinguished  alumna of Syracuse University and member of the University’s Board of Trustees.

The Seinfeld Scholar Program recognizes those who have made outstanding contributions to the beauty of the world, to human values and to ending human abuse anywhere in the world, and acknowledges the recipient’s passion for excellence, creativity and originality in academic or artistic fields. Those chosen are determined to have the ability to motivate and bring out the best in others. Designation as a Seinfeld Scholar is intended to encourage and stimulate future contributions to society. Students are eligible for the award every three years. Each recipient receives a cash prize.

Justine Paul ’18, a University Scholar and Remembrance Scholar, is one of two students to be named a Seinfeld Scholar this year. The other recipient is Tammy Hong. You can read more about both recipients in this recent article from Syracuse University News.

Two Remembrance Scholars among Fulbright Recipients

Two 2017-2018 Remembrance Scholars are among the Syracuse University students and alumnae to receive Fulbright Grants for the 2018-2019 academic year. Overall, six students and three alumnae were selected to participate in the Fulbright English Teaching Assistant (ETA) Program. Two students have received study/research grants. The research grants and ETAs are awarded through the Fulbright U.S. Student Program from the U.S. Department of State and the J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board. The Fulbright program allows university graduates to immerse themselves in culture and language in a foreign country teaching English or engaging in a research or study program.

Zainaib Abdali ’18, a 2017-2018 Remembrance Scholar and member of the Renée Crown University Honors Program, was a awarded an English Teaching Assistantship in Kenya.

Angie Pati ’18, a 2017-2018 Remembrance Scholar, was awarded an English Teaching Assistantship in South Africa.

Learn more about the program and this year’s recipients in today’s article from Syracuse University News.

Four Remembrance Scholars named as University Scholars

The distinction of being named a University Scholar is the highest undergraduate honor bestowed by Syracuse University. This year, four Remembrance Scholars are among the 12 graduating students selected as University Scholars. They are:

  • Jacob Gedetsis, S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications, College of Arts and Sciences;
  • Joshua McMaster, College of Visual and Performing Arts;
  • Jacqueline Page, S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications, College of Arts and Sciences, Renée Crown University Honors Program;
  • Justine Paul, College of Engineering and Computer Science

Read more about the University Scholars in today’s Syracuse University News.

Remembrance Application Update

The Remembrance staff has been made aware that, due to a technical error, some applicants may have received a premature notice that the application period for the Remembrance Scholarship had closed. This issue has now been resolved.

Due to this error, the deadline for 2018-2019 Remembrance Scholar applications has been extended to Wednesday, January 24 at 3pm.


Professor Lawrence Mason Appointed as University’s Remembrance and Lockerbie Ambassador

Chancellor Kent Syverud has appointed Lawrence Mason Jr., professor of multimedia, photography and design in the S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications, as the first Syracuse University Remembrance and Lockerbie ambassador. In this new capacity, Mason will play leadership roles with the Remembrance Scholar Selection Committee, Lockerbie Scholar selection, defining and enhancing the Remembrance and Lockerbie Scholar experience, and continuing to deepen and strengthen sustainable bonds between Syracuse University, the families of Pan Am Flight 103 victims and the Lockerbie region of southern Scotland. Click here to read more about Professor Mason’s new role.

Two Remembrance Scholars are Finalists for Prestigious Nationally Competitive Scholarship Awards

Two Syracuse University students have been named finalists for three of the United States’ most prestigious nationally competitive scholarship awards: the Marshall Scholarship, the Mitchell Scholarship and the Rhodes Scholarship.

Zainab Abdali, a 2017-2018 Remembrance Scholar and member of the  Renée Crown University Honors Program , was selected as a finalist for the Marshall Scholarship.

Cameron MacPherson ’16, a 2015-2016 Remembrance Scholar and member of the  Renée Crown University Honors Program , was selected as a finalist for the Mitchell Scholarship and a district finalist for the Rhodes Scholarship.

You can read more about Abdali and MacPherson’s studies and accomplishments in this recent article from Syracuse University News.

Rose-Laying Ceremony and Remembrance Convocation to be Held Friday

The 2017-18 Convocation for Remembrance Scholars, honoring 35 outstanding students from this year’s senior class, will be held Friday, Oct. 27, at 3 p.m. in Hendricks Chapel.

The Convocation will be preceded by the annual Rose-Laying Ceremony at 2:03 p.m. at the Place of Remembrance, located in front of the Hall of Languages. This ceremony honors the 270 people, including 35 students studying abroad through Syracuse University, who were killed in the Dec. 21, 1988, bombing of Pan Am Flight 103 over Lockerbie, Scotland. The ceremony also honors 2002-03 Lockerbie Scholar Andrew McClune, who died in 2002.

Learn more about Friday’s Remembrance Week events here.